About Us

The Silverstone Experience is due to open to the public in spring 2019, managed by the registered charity Silverstone Heritage Ltd (SHL). Based at Silverstone Circuit, the world-famous motor racing circuit, the new attraction will be situated in the last remaining Second World War hangar at the venue. This building and the land on which it sits have been gifted to the charity by the British Racing Drivers’ Club (BRDC).

Our vision to celebrate Silverstone’s fascinating history is now becoming a reality thanks to the Heritage Lottery Fund who awarded SHL a grant of £9.1 million in December 2016 to develop The Silverstone Experience.


Silverstone Heritage Ltd is governed by a board of 8 trustees:

Ian Titchmarsh Find out more

BRDC Member, Chair of Silverstone Heritage Ltd

Lord Beaverbrook Find out more

BRDC Board Member

John Grant Find out more

BRDC Chairman

Dr Kevin Moore Find out more

CEO Humber Bridge Board and Chair of Sporting Heritage Network

Christopher Newns Find out more

Founding Director of Avercet Property

Stuart Pringle Find out more

Managing Director of Silverstone Circuits Ltd

Sally Reynolds Find out more

CEO of The Silverstone Experience

Professor Jean Williams Find out more

Professor of Sport, University of Wolverhampton

Victoria Worpole Find out more

Director of Collections, Exhibitions and Learning


The Silverstone Experience is supported by Prince Harry

We are delighted that his Royal Highness Prince Henry of Wales is the project’s Royal Patron. He has expressed his support for the project, especially the opportunity to recognise the part Britain has played in motor sport historically and also the vital role British expertise plays in the modern era. He is keen to draw attention to this contribution as a means of encouraging more people into engineering and ultimately the sport in the future.

Read more about Prince Harry’s recent visit to The Silverstone Experience here.


The Silverstone Experience has also been supported by:

  • The Beaverbrook Foundation
  • South Northamptonshire Council
  • Aylesbury Vale District Council
  • Buckinghamshire County Council
  • Northamptonshire County Council
  • Buckinghamshire and Thames Valley Local Enterprise Partnership
  • South East Midlands Local Enterprise Partnership

Find out how you can support us.

Sign up to newsletter

* indicates required.
We will not share your contact details with any third parties.